How to locate a club

Moderators: Chris Berry, libertyman777

Forum rules
1. No flaming, badgering, or foul language allowed. Please keep it civil and clean.
2. Threads should stay on topic. New discussions should be started on a separate thread.
3. Please do not post text in all CAPS, as that is considered rude and unnecessary.
4. No commercial sales or buy/trade/want ads of any kind.
5. Moderator decisions are final. If you are in doubt about a post, please contact a Moderator before posting.

How to locate a club

Postby Jayhawker » Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:56 pm

I am new to this form but thought this might be a good place to start. I have been interested in Field Target shooting but have not be able to find a club or events in my area here in the mid U.S.A. I live in North Eastern Kansas ( Kansas City area). I have looked on the AAFTA club page but can't find anything even close. Does anyone have any information that maybe of help to me? Thanks for any help you might have. Jayhawker
Jayhawker

Re: How to locate a club

Postby richard » Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:15 pm

Unfortunately there are lots of areas where nobody is running any matches. This is true for most shooting sports. The only remedy is for someone to step up and run matches. Sometimes even then there is no interest. I don't know what the answer is. Some places have "standing room only" and other places there are very few participants. We run a lot of different things at our home club and some things we get little activity and others we seem to get lots of shooters. We run field target at our club and get good turnouts but field target is pretty labor intensive compared to other things.